Question

Photo of Richard Sanford

New site with Page Attributes

I've got a problem and not sure what's going on in order to use Page Attributes for a new site I created...I've set up some Page Attribute Values for my site and uploaded an image and some header text to test but nothing displays on the test page. Is there something else I need to look for to make sure the attributes can display on a page? thanks

• Photo of Eddie Holeman

Richard, I am no expert at this, but we use Page Attributes of some of our sites. If you go to https://upstatecollective.org/aboutucc, you will note the image of the city of Greenville near the top of the page. This comes from a page attribute. The layout for this page is attached here in a zip file: FullWidth.zip Hoping this provides something to think about.

• Photo of Michael Garrison

Richard, did you make any headway with this? Just adding an attribute to a site alone doesn't do anything except make the values available to you...your theme will need to know to go and get the values and display them correctly.

What theme are you attempting to use for the site you added these attributes to?

• Photo of Michael Garrison

The Stark theme doesn't have anything built into it to use page attributes. Adding a page attribute makes it available, but something has to go and use it.

One option is to download the Agency theme from the Rock Shop. It (and perhaps other themes) is designed to use certain page attributes like you're saying, and is designed to display them on the page when a value is provided.

Another option that is probably not the most common nor the best but might be a good introduction to how it works, would be to get and display the value in a block. This wouldn't require you to know how to modify themes. To test this out, add an HTML block to your page (or even set it to display in this location on every page in your site).